Let's be rational here...

2010-09-09 @ 8:47 a.m.
My Future


I'm getting a cold. Probably because of the torrential rain i got caught in yesterday...and the day before.

I'm stressing out big time here though.

The cold is the least of my worries.

I went to college enrollment and they've decided that i can't mix the two courses together.

So i have two options.

Firstly, take the evening course and pray that KCL will accept it's qualification with no actual English class involved...which is pretty far fucking fetched.

Secondly, do the day course and swap all my shifts around like a crazy lady to manage it all.

I think it's going to have to be the second option.

I don't really have a choice.

I'm going to need to steal the 0530 shift every Monday and Tuesday and then steal the 1415 shift every Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

But not only this...

I'm going to have to get permission to leave work 15 minutes early on the Monday and Tuesday to get to the college on time.

AND I'll need to start 90 minutes late on the Wednesday and Friday to complete the college day before work.

So that's 3 1/2 hours time each week i'm going to owe my boss.

I can work an extra 90 minutes on the Thursday lunch time so that helps out a little bit. But the other 2 hours will either have to be deducted from my pay or added to my Saturday if i'm working it.

I'm probably going to have to look at giving up my sundays. All of them, if i can work out the money well enough.

And i'm going to try and book a lot of saturdays off annual leave or comp leave so i can have some clear weekends.

It'll be too much time at work otherwise and not enough free time to study or even unwind a little.

I may be entitled to extra help financially because it's my first full time level 3 course and i'm not going to be earning as much.

I've ordered a pack to fill out and see.

But i only have today and tomorrow morning to get my boss and colleagues to agree to this.

I'm not overly optimistic about the outcome. But i still have my fingers crossed regardless.

It's going to be a miracle if i can get the shifts i want each week. And an even bigger miracle if my boss is okay with all the lateness that will occur.

And aside from that...juggling full time work with full time studying is going to be tiring.

That's why i want as many weekends free as possible.

On the plus side...if i get good grades from all of this, then the fact that i balanced the both will greatly appeal to Universities.

And if i'm too busy focusing on my studying, i'll have less time to waste my money on shopping and takeouts.

I'll have to establish a routine. Gym at 4pm on Mondays and Tuesdays, then dinner and studying and a bit of reading or watching movies. Gym at 9pm every other day during the week, then studying and relaxing.

Saturdays and Sundays will be study time plus cinema or relaxing or just spending time with family.

But i'm okay with that.

I've got to work hard to get where i want.

And i definately want to go to KCL.

The open day was so much fun.

It just gave me such a big feel for the place. What it will be like going there. What to expect from my lessons.

The Strand campus, which is where the English department is based, is beautiful. Big open corridors and old stone archways.

I've seen what a lecture room and a seminar room look like and they're sort of comfy. It still frightens me a little but i think i'd find a way to cope with my shyness...the back bench for a start.

I learnt that they only take in about 7% of the applicants...which means my personal statement and interview have to be pretty powerful.

There's generally 90 english students in a year, with 25 tutors.

You study four modules a semester and each one of those modules has two classes a week. Generally one seminar and one lecture.

So at least it's evenly divided. Just four seminars to get through each week. I can cope...i think.

The Maughan library is amazing. I can see myself camped out there until late. Bonus is that it has wireless hooked up in these little booths...i'd so make sure i had a favourite booth!

The accomodation was quite cool too. Fairly big rooms with lovely big windows. I'd definately try and get into the residence closest to campus for my first year. Just to make things easier.

I think there'd be enough room for the majority of my stuff. But i definately need to consider leaving more of my belongings stored at my Mas or Grams.

It's all so exciting really. I'd never be bored cause there's just so much to do and see in London.

KCL is definately my dream. English is definately my dream.

Evening french lessons. A photography diploma class. Women's Society club. Tai Chi class. Travelling in summer. Part time work in a friendly environment. Volunteer tutoring.

These things are my dream for the next few years.

I just pray to god that this year works out. Otherwise i'm going to have to start getting drastic to get what i want.

<<ghosts []the mist>>


me

A shit load of contradictions, wrapped up neatly, with a nice pretty bow.

adore

Reading. Writing. Zoos & Animal Parks. Bowling. Coffee Ice-cream. Blues Rock/Alternative/Indie Music. Fallen Angels. Wild Flowers. Pastrami. Vanilla Coke. Autumn. Harry Potter. Driving. Turquoise. Southern Comfort. Aviators. Semolina. Christmas. Museums. Dream Catchers. Roller Coasters. Tattoos. Winter Cider. Philosophy. Vintage Shops. Night time. Chinese Lanterns. Hoop earrings. Sci-Fi. Flowery Skirts. Mythical Creatures. Weeping Willows. Castles. Yankee Candles. Rainy Mornings. Ballet Pumps. Baking. Art Galleries. Long pendants. Quills and Ink. Spiced Rum. Libraries. Sleeping. Converse. Forests. Banana Milk. Venetian Masks. Poetry. Fireworks. US License Plates. Graveyards. Quotes. White Chocolate. Cats. Stars. Scrap Books. Shopping. Metallic Nail Varnish. Keepsakes. Phoenixes. Golden Grahams. Horror Movies. Tea (Esp. Rose Earl Grey). Lemonade Shower Gel. Travelling. Tragic Love. Piercings. Old Book & New Sponge Smells. Storms. Witty People. Cherries. Colourful Socks. American Dramas. Airports. Aston Martins. Hazelnut Lattes. Cowboys. Skeleton Keys. Cajun Chicken. Ivy. Dreams. Cinnamon Waffles. Old London. French Cheese. Trilby Hats. Antiques. Colourful Plasters. Postcards. Colourful paperclips. Bangles. Marvel & DC Comics. Key rings. Notebooks.

detest

Dishonesty. Racism. Narrow-Mindedness. Idiocy. Unwarranted Violence. Neglective Parents. Bullying. Unearned Respect. Betrayal. Extreme Heat. Bright Lights. Sickness. Mushrooms & Olives. Alarm Clocks. Unfounded Jealousy. South African Accents. Celebrity Biographies. Suffocating Presences. Restrictions. Superficial people. Game playing. Routines.

desire

Robert Frost Leather Bound Journal.

Small Vinyl Book Ends.

Astro Star Lamp.


reminiscence

  • Histoire
  • Moi
  • Images
  • credit where credit's due.

    designer joy.deprived

    hosted by DiaryLand.com