Let's be rational here...

2011-10-04 @ 5:16 p.m.
You Can't Beat This


You know�I keep starting to write this and then something or other will happen and it gets neglected. Then I come back to it and anything I�ve written just doesn�t seem good enough.

I feel like I�ve tripped and stumbled into this new world where everything is busy and fun, and overloaded with laughter and a sense of being a part of something � of belonging. I feel like so many of the things I was worrying about before just don�t matter anymore. I�m here and it feels like home for now.

This city is beautiful and I�m navigating it like a pro, despite the god awful hills. The university and the students are amazing and the house I�m living in is perfect. Just like my bedroom and just like my housemates. And my courses? I adore them.

I don�t think I could have dreamt up a better situation myself, and boy do I feel lucky right now. And grateful, oh so grateful that it�s working out.

Everything has picked up in pace, yet it�s not hectic. There�s always something to do, or someone to speak with, and instead of wasting my time, I find I�m utilising every second of it. I�m taking those chances and I�m using those opportunities. But most of all, I�m having a blast. I�m truly loving where I�m at right now and suddenly everything in life seems that much simpler.

Because there�s so much to say, and every attempt at getting it out has completely failed, I�ll bullet point the highlights of my first two weeks of university.

� Our house is attached to the back of the beautiful listed building and away from the main student digs, which means it�s super quiet and private, and so feckin� spacious it surprised us all.

� My bedroom is the biggest and the brightest, with these huge wooden windows that light up my day every morning. Having my own bathroom is just�I love it. The shower is also the best shower I�ve ever had�can you say POWER shower? *squeals*

� My housemates are amazing! Rob is funny as fuck and always good for a long chat, Azumi is a mind field of Japanese info and never tires of my questions, Sarah is the sweetest and can always be counted on for watching movies, Jonny is absolutely crazy and always up for anything, Luke is the cutest (personality speaking here, although he is rather good looking) and always so helpful, and Claire is just the greatest. (Seriously. I mean, I know I sometimes give too much stock into the whole star sign thing, but this girl is another true Capricorn after my own heart. We get on like a house on fire � same dry wit, same super friendliness, same inappropriate sense of humour, same no bullshit attitude, same cute and innocent look/manner, same love of shopping and living at a slow pace, same travel itch and desire to do stuff � just same personality type full stop; the midnight hot chocolates, fun shopping sprees and rummy games spread out across my floor are what�s made this feel like home. I adore this girl.)

� My fictional writing class is so much fun. I�ve made a bunch of friends in there, most of all Scott, Mike and Sarah, but everyone is always so nice to me. I adore the writing practises and i never feel scared to speak up or write what�s in my head.

� My screenwriting class is also super fun. My homework is usually to watch movies - I mean, really?! And the discussions are always great. We dissected Beauty and the Beast last week � my favourite!

� My American Studies seminars are so interesting, and although the people in there are a little quieter than I would like, I don�t feel scared to speak up. The little group meeting we have afterwards is really nice, with the four of us all relaxed for our discussions and the weblog we do together is really quite fun and gets me researching stuff.

� My lecturers are all so friendly and everything has felt so comfortable. I look forward to everything, even the classes I think will be harder or will bring me out of my comfort zone.

� We�ve had two drunken nights out, which were a total riot. This Friday is a Heroes and Villains fancy dress night and I�m going as Rogue from X-men. I�m super excited.

� I got made student rep in Creative Writing *squeals* Sixteen of us put our names down, but he made us all give him examples of who we would have play us in the film of our life, and what music we would have play in the opening and end credits, and I got in! Me and two other guys I have yet to meet.

� I have a new plant called Amelia, she is the sister to Claire�s plant Audrey and I was forced to buy her. But I kind of like her.

� I�ve been non-stop applying for jobs with not a lot of luck, but it�s forced me to re-evaluate travelling plans and I�ve decided to work in the summer months and save up for a big travelling trip after graduation. It also means I can likely survive without a job this academic year (it seems to be so much easier to get jobs in your 2nd and 3rd year) so long as I get one for the summer at home. I�m optimistic anyhow. It�ll all work out.

� Both my credit cards and my laptop have been paid off. Now I only have two store cards that I�m negotiating over, and my overdraft which is nearly non-existent from reducing each month. God does it feel good to nearly be debt free diary (student loans don�t count, s�not like I�ll be paying it back anytime soon).

� I�ve been cooking properly, and even baking some, and eating super healthily as well. I�m so proud of myself, no matter how ridiculous that seems. All the hilly walking is starting to work on my fitness too � next up I�m buying a Wii and prancing around my room to aid my fitness level � ha.

� I have a new love of Disaronno and cherry, like a major new love.

� I got my hair cut at Tony & Guy and I love my curls again. Oh yeah.

� We�ve been having a mini heat wave, which has stopped today, but all my summer gear got another work out and I got to eat breakfast outside for a week.

� I haven�t really spoken to family much. Mum checks in every now and then, but I haven�t heard from Lewis at all, which kind of makes me sad. It reminds me of how this family has broken apart. Jamie, Shay, Tivi, Nicky and Jane have been chatting with me a lot. I think they�re all just as excitable as me right now, for their own reasons though.

� Jane is getting married next September and keeps asking after my schedule, which of course I won�t have until the summer. Yet I�m applying for the American Exchange and if by some miracle I get in, I�m going to be nearly 5000 miles away � I really don�t have the heart to tell her. And, anyway, there�s no point in doing so unless I get it.

� I�ve applied to volunteer with the local prison and local hospital radio station. Whoop.

� I�m joining the Hampshire Writer�s Society (go me!) and possibly the book club, but I�m still in deciding mode with that one.

I think that�s about it really, and I�m getting hungry now so I think I�ll go start dinner. But�you know�everything is just so good. I feel happy � not hysterically happy, but just flat out happy. Like everything will work out and everything will stay good, stay great really. And I don�t feel quite so alone or strange anymore � I feel accepted.

University life suits me diary and I�m going to keep it that way.

<<ghosts []the mist>>


me

A shit load of contradictions, wrapped up neatly, with a nice pretty bow.

adore

Reading. Writing. Zoos & Animal Parks. Bowling. Coffee Ice-cream. Blues Rock/Alternative/Indie Music. Fallen Angels. Wild Flowers. Pastrami. Vanilla Coke. Autumn. Harry Potter. Driving. Turquoise. Southern Comfort. Aviators. Semolina. Christmas. Museums. Dream Catchers. Roller Coasters. Tattoos. Winter Cider. Philosophy. Vintage Shops. Night time. Chinese Lanterns. Hoop earrings. Sci-Fi. Flowery Skirts. Mythical Creatures. Weeping Willows. Castles. Yankee Candles. Rainy Mornings. Ballet Pumps. Baking. Art Galleries. Long pendants. Quills and Ink. Spiced Rum. Libraries. Sleeping. Converse. Forests. Banana Milk. Venetian Masks. Poetry. Fireworks. US License Plates. Graveyards. Quotes. White Chocolate. Cats. Stars. Scrap Books. Shopping. Metallic Nail Varnish. Keepsakes. Phoenixes. Golden Grahams. Horror Movies. Tea (Esp. Rose Earl Grey). Lemonade Shower Gel. Travelling. Tragic Love. Piercings. Old Book & New Sponge Smells. Storms. Witty People. Cherries. Colourful Socks. American Dramas. Airports. Aston Martins. Hazelnut Lattes. Cowboys. Skeleton Keys. Cajun Chicken. Ivy. Dreams. Cinnamon Waffles. Old London. French Cheese. Trilby Hats. Antiques. Colourful Plasters. Postcards. Colourful paperclips. Bangles. Marvel & DC Comics. Key rings. Notebooks.

detest

Dishonesty. Racism. Narrow-Mindedness. Idiocy. Unwarranted Violence. Neglective Parents. Bullying. Unearned Respect. Betrayal. Extreme Heat. Bright Lights. Sickness. Mushrooms & Olives. Alarm Clocks. Unfounded Jealousy. South African Accents. Celebrity Biographies. Suffocating Presences. Restrictions. Superficial people. Game playing. Routines.

desire

Robert Frost Leather Bound Journal.

Small Vinyl Book Ends.

Astro Star Lamp.


reminiscence

  • Histoire
  • Moi
  • Images
  • credit where credit's due.

    designer joy.deprived

    hosted by DiaryLand.com