Let's be rational here...

2011-07-04 @ 9:11 p.m.
Be the Ocean


I love my Grandmother, I really do � but there�s seriously only so much I can take. When I try to explain our relationship to people, it never quite comes out how I intended. But if there�s anyone that knows exactly how I feel, it�s Ma and Lew.

There is such a thing as love without like, and without respect. I know this because I feel it for so many different people. Same as I can like people without respecting them, and respect them without liking them. It�s a rare thing for me to find someone I like, love and respect. It may make me sound fussy or obnoxious�or a whole shed load of other not-so-nice adjectives, but it�s the truth. The world is full of a variety of shady people, and I can count on both hands how many people I have felt all three for.

I don�t know whether I should take this as a sign that I�m surrounding myself with all the wrong people, or that I�m asking for too much from others. Either way, it�s not exactly good. Anyway, back to the topic at hand � Grams.

I�ve never known someone so prone to idiocy, hypocrisy, attention seeking, selective naivety, and purposeful antagonising/shit stirring. Never mind the fact she�s the biggest hypochondriac I�ve ever met and she makes everything twice as hard as it really needs to be. Whoever gave her the medical dictionary I just found tucked under her pillow ought to be feckin� punished!

Now, I am not saying any of this �cause I feel like being particularly mean � lord knows I have my moments � but these are just the facts. Anyone in the family will admit this much. What they won�t admit to is the fact that perhaps they don�t really like Grams as a person, and if she wasn�t Grams, they may not want a single thing to do with her. It would make for a feckin� easy life.

I�m not afraid to admit this. There is an awful lot of my family I wouldn�t bother with if they weren�t my family. And it�s not because blood is thicker than water. I, more than most, know the irrelevancy of this argument. It�s about growing up with people � having happy memories along with the crappy ones � feeling a sense of loyalty or kinship at some point or other. These are the things that stop me walking away.

So as much as I feel like going home and sleeping my rubbishy-old-women-talking-shit induced headache off, it�s not going to happen. I made a promise, willingly or not, to help out for the week � so I�m pretty much stuck here until Thursday.

But, seriously; no matter what problems I�ve had with my Ma in the past, constantly bad mouthing her to me and trying to get me to participate is getting really old - really really old. Also, what happened to this being just about companionship at night-time? Cooking every meal, making tea every five seconds, doing washing and cleaning and frickin reorganising your bedroom for you is not companionship!

Bonus is that Lew doesn�t have college and only works on Sat afternoons, so he�s here a lot of the time to keep me sane. He helped me raid the library for some decent books earlier today (I found four � yes, I know I don�t need any more but I couldn�t just leave them) and when he gets back from playing tennis we�re going to watch Transformers 3. Mainly so I get a long awaited glimpse of Bumblebee (I heart Bumblebee).

So, anyway, I moved back home, as you could probably guess. It was a pretty quick affair. Lew cycled the 80 miles there and back to come help out and gave me a total shock when I found him on my doorstep (he is, without a doubt, the world�s sweetest, coolest brother) and Ma and Roy turned up together with their cars. Before I knew it, they were loaded up and we were gone.

I�d spent days and days meticulously packing and cleaning out my room, and then it was all over in a flash. Majority of my stuff is being stored in the garage � which is a good job considering my bedroom is tincy tiny. Not that I�m complaining, about the room size or the camp bed, I�m actually just really happy to be home.

I�ve already had a conversation with Ma about the house for after she gets married, and she�s definitely going to keep it as a family house for me and Lew. She even said I could have her bedroom when she moves out. Which means I don�t have to drag half as much stuff to Winchester, as I�ll have a home base to return to every three weekends or so � this is the plan, whether it happens or not is something else altogether. So yep, everything on the home front is hunky dory. I don�t miss St Albans at all, nor do I miss the college, but I do sometimes miss friends I made there.

The last week or so has been totally crazy for college work. I ended up having to do a proper rush job of two last assignments and complete a ton of learner reflections, BUT��tis all done now - FINALLY � and hurrah I�ve passed the course with Distinction!!!

I�m a bit unsure as to whether to go to the Award Ceremony. One part of me just thinks, bugger it, I really should go. Another part wants to stay home and sleep the summer away. Well maybe not sleep it away as I need some money. Lew and I are all set to scour the town, newspapers and temp agencies for ways to earn money this summer. If we got jobs together that would be such a bonus, but we�ll see.

Money wise I�m pretty much in the same place as always. I�m awaiting confirmation on the amount of my deposit I can expect to get back (it was �485), my housing money hasn�t yet turned up (�320), I�m still owed money by WHSmiths (Approx. �300) and I overpaid my tax by about �80. *sighs* my next lot of confirmed money is �90 on the 14th � but I have like��640 to pay out to everyone I owe money to. The sooner everyone pays up, the sooner I can clear my shiz. I need to start paying my minimum payments to keep my creditors happy too, and a 3-month gym pass is �78. These, and the super duper camera I want, and that�s pretty much all my money due in gone.

I also need to pay Ma for my laptop and get a few bits before Uni starts. The latter won�t be so hard � it�s the coming up with �750 for my beautiful laptop that requires I get myself some work this summer. I�ll already have enough money coming in to sort out food, direct debits and even some trips to see people at long last � it really is just for the sake of paying Ma back that I need to work. But I�ve got three months and �750 shouldn�t be too hard to earn in that time. I may even make more and get to see Vienna! Who knows *shrugs*

I�ve given up on trying to contact Orange about my phone � I�m just going to play ignorant and forget about paying for it. If they try and ask for money I�ll start a huge bitchy fight about how many times I�ve tried to contact them and been ignored, which I�ll probably win �cause I�m awesome at those. Yep � problem solved.

I�ve finally got my act together and ordered a PAYG Orange sim off eBay (all the free ones I sent off for didn�t turn up and the whole borrowing Grams phone thing has turned into a big disaster, with her spare T-Mobile sim being disconnected and the charger taking so long to turn up), so as soon as that turns up I can pop it in my Blackberry and voila!

I went to see Becky last week, which was actually really nice. I keep thinking I�m going to be completely nervous around her; remembering how much time we�ve spent apart and how little we maybe know each other now. But, then I see her, and she�s still the same Becky, you know? I think she�s one of the only people I really admired growing up. The slightly older cousin that always seemed to be more awesome than I was.

She feels like an equal now � not that I don�t still admire her, because I do. I think she�s an amazing person and I�m genuinely glad to have her in my life. I�ve always felt some sort of funny kinship with her � being only eight months apart, both having unruly curls and pale skin � being the exact same race.

That probably sounds odd to most people, but we used to laugh about how we were both �quarter cast� � one parent half Nigerian, half English/Irish and the other parent English with an Irish and welsh past. Of course, you can�t say shiz like �quarter cast� nowadays without being accused of racism � but we thought it was funny to have found someone with the same ethnic background, pretty much exactly too, and to also have a lot of things alike appearance wise � like I said, the hair and the skin.

But now she�s got a darker skin tone than me (she literally looks Italian) and her curls are now long waves (when she lets it grow longer than a few inches); I�ve gotten paler and developed freckles (I also bruise like a peach and have skin reactions to pretty much everything � yay for Antihistamines) plus, my curls are even crazier than before.

And, although we have many things in common still � like a penchant for artsy original stuff, indie music, piercings, tattoos and trying most things once, we�re actually so very different. That�s the beauty of it though isn�t it?

She never wears trousers and sometimes I think she looks downright crazy � like a rainbow; I adore jeans and board shorts and I have a habit of matching stuff. She never reads and is a bit of a social butterfly; I�m pretty much a hermit sometimes, and everyone knows I live with my head inside a book. She can draw and design and she�s amazing at it, though she can�t spell or write for shit; I�m book smart � I can write, and I love it � but my artistic creativity is the kind I do for pleasure, it really isn�t meant to be seen by the world. She�s like super nice, to everyone and she�s an amazing cook � I usually don�t have the patience to cook and I get a headache from being nice.

But she�s still my big cousin, you know? And I still look to her for guidance sometimes; it just doesn�t feel so strange when she does the same thing back anymore.

So anyway, it was fab visiting her � she made me drink some proper Italian espresso she has from her Nona (it�s her step-dad�s family that�s Italian) and I seriously will not be doing that again anytime soon. I�ll stick with my sugar laden lattes. She did however recommend me a friend on Facebook that she knows from London who is at Winchester doing Creative Writing � so weird. She seems really nice though, and it�s good to know a single person who�s going to be there in September at least.

I can�t remember whether I said anything about getting over my Starbucks fear � but I did it! I went up to the scary counter and ordered myself a Hazelnut Latte and I even remembered that venti is the largest not Grande like I always say in my head. Wow, I sound like a kid - but seriously, give me a Costa�s or a B B�s any day and I�m in my element. Maybe I�ll make myself be more adventurous next time and order it all skinny and stuff, and peppermint instead�or not. Or a cinnamon spice mocha�.yum.

I�m back! (In case anyone didn�t realise, I�ve been writing this over a span of days � everytime I start I get called away to do something). Me & Lew went and got KFC last night and watched Due Date � I do love Robert Downey Jnr. And I watched Tangled this afternoon, which seriously made me miss Disney movies � Rapunzel is my new favourite princess. I think I may download some more to watch � Beauty and the Beast next!

Hmmm, what else did I have in my mind to say? Oh, I�ve been having some crazy ass dreams lately, like even more crazy than usual. Stuff like my ex-step dad sleeping in our hallway and a new baby brother that sleeps on the floor in the bathroom with Lewis. It was all emotional and horrible. I wonder if it�s the pills?

Speaking of the pills, I forgot to take them for like four days in a row when I was so busy and on the fourth day, I started getting all anxiety ridden. It was absurd � I couldn�t calm myself down � just worried and worried and stressed myself out no end, even while I was trying to be rational and tell myself there was no reason to be this worked up.

So, having now decided I don�t want to take the pills anymore, I�m not sure outright quitting is the best idea. Well, I knew it wouldn�t be, but that malarkey just confirmed it for me. So a few days ago I started splitting my pills in half, then in another few days I�ll take half a pill every other day (Lew recommended that) and then hopefully it won�t be so bad when they�ve all run out in a few weeks.

And I know most people moan about anti-depressants and say they make you numb, but I don�t think that�s true. It�s like they form this barrier between how you feel and how you react. As if they muffle everything a bit too�it�s odd to explain. But that�s how it feels to me anyway, but the reason I decided I didn�t want to take them is because I had this odd little pang of determination � exciting and scary.

I felt all kick ass and I wanted to go do something crazy � I wanted to go kickboxing and feel strong again - and then it just went away. And I missed it as soon as I was gone. �Cause even though without the pills the bad moods will be harder to cope with, I�m going to find a way around them without the medication, and it will be worth it to be able to feel my full excitement again.

Ma and Lew have always said I�m one of the most excitable people they know � in fact, a lot of people are always telling me that. Usually I just get chuckles and people shaking their head � how can I be so enthusiastic for something so small? I can see it in their faces. But, lately I just haven�t been feeling it as much and it�s such a huge part of me that I don�t want to be missing it anymore.

Yeah, I often make sudden gasping sounds and scare the shit out of people; and I talk ten to the dozen, getting so high pitched you might not always understand me. And yeah, I do stupid stuff; like skip down the street in the rain grinning like a fool; hum in the shower until my brother thumps on the door complaining we�re not in a musical; crack up laughing before I can participate in a lie or a joke �cause it�s just so vivid in my head. And yeah, I�ll keep looking at your face when we watch movies to share the excitement, and you might just get fed up with my animated and loud reactions when I love what I�m watching. But�.so what? It�s just who I am after all, embarrassing as it might be sometimes. I want to feel it all again, and I will 

We figured out the other day that my excitement is probably why I seem to constantly have the hiccups. Seriously, at least three times a week they�ll make an appearance and they�re so frickin� loud. I�m used to seeing Ma and Lew sniggering behind their hands � horrible family. Another facet of my oh-so-charming personality � ha.

You know, I�m not so scared about Uni anymore. I�ve been looking forward to it for so long, and tempering that with this stomach churning nervousness, and slowly it�s just started to disappear. I�m still slightly nervous, but more than anything I can�t wait to get on with it. To get on with everything really � my classes, getting fit and healthy, living in Winchester, making new friends. The whole new life experience.

Talking of experiences - I went to the Royal Ballet in London with Ma and Grams to see Romeo and Juliet and I adored it. I was getting seriously into it, even though the chairs were thoroughly uncomfortable. I heard some idiot behind me exclaiming that they didn�t understand what was happening, and I just thought �You prat � why come to see the ballet of Romeo and Juliet if you don�t even know the story properly!� Anyway, I loved it and I�m glad I got to see it. T�was beautiful and Mercutio is still my absolute favourite!

So, did I say I got a Distinction on my Research Project? So much for thinking it would be pants, turned out it was fab. I actually enjoyed writing it in the end too, however rushed it may have been. I ended the year with 13 A�s, 5 B�s and 2 C�s. The 2 C�s are my own fault for handing it in so late � they would have been A�s if I hadn�t left it months  But, whatever, I still aced the course.

Ma�s wedding planning is still going full steam ahead for 9th February. I wrote a message on my little cousin Adam�s Facebook wall letting him know that even though his Ma wasn�t coming (they�re still not talking) that he definitely was as I was gunna take him. I probably antagonised my Aunt to no end, but he was so sweet and excited about it, I couldn�t resist. I�m sure there�s some way to connect up from Winchester to Plymouth and take him with me for the weekend!

I have discovered the awesomeness that is Skype at long last. Hurrah. Oh and I haven�t sorted out the solicitor yet because I�m a procrastinator. I�m surprised Mark is being this patient � I�m expecting him to rage at me soon. Can�t say I�d blame him, but he knows I give back as good as I get and he needs me to sign the house over.

I didn�t go to the college BBQ in the end, nobody did, and I felt too old to be there � which just about says it all. Instead me and J went to see The Green Lantern at the movies in Hatfield (I <3 that movie and Ryan Reynolds!!) � but first we went to Frankie and Bennies � seriously, thank heavens for black and blue chicken pasta, followed up by cinnamon waffles and ice cream. I think I died and went there.

Rang Howie the other day to let him know I was home for the summer and even though he was his usual grumpy un-talkative self, telling me he actually missed me a bit before I said goodbye, reminded me why I love my friend very much. Becca, you know why I�m so happy for you? Roach is like Howie � I get it. You�ll understand what I mean, even if no one else does.

I decided I like the name Stirling. Just thought I�d bring that up, in case I forget and read these sometime in the future. Oooh and Jayne is coming to Bedford soon and I�m going to make sure I bloody well see her this time. Oh Oh Oh, and HP7 Pt. 2!!! � 11 days and counting � boo yah!

Oh, and I did have one other tincy tiny revelation. While I spend a lot of time bemoaning the fact my family is not affectionate (except for us youngsters, everytime we see each other we�re always hugging and stuff, even me and Lew), maybe I should just be affectionate to them and let them know it�s okay, you know? Stop this trend they�ve got going and open them up! You won�t get it if you don�t make I seem like you want it after all.

I can�t wait to see my Ma�s face if I just start hugging her out of the blue!! Mwahaha. I most definitely do not apologise if some of this makes no sense, it made perfect sense when I wrote it!!

And I�ll leave you with this song because it�s stuck in my head � it is sweet.

<<ghosts []the mist>>


me

A shit load of contradictions, wrapped up neatly, with a nice pretty bow.

adore

Reading. Writing. Zoos & Animal Parks. Bowling. Coffee Ice-cream. Blues Rock/Alternative/Indie Music. Fallen Angels. Wild Flowers. Pastrami. Vanilla Coke. Autumn. Harry Potter. Driving. Turquoise. Southern Comfort. Aviators. Semolina. Christmas. Museums. Dream Catchers. Roller Coasters. Tattoos. Winter Cider. Philosophy. Vintage Shops. Night time. Chinese Lanterns. Hoop earrings. Sci-Fi. Flowery Skirts. Mythical Creatures. Weeping Willows. Castles. Yankee Candles. Rainy Mornings. Ballet Pumps. Baking. Art Galleries. Long pendants. Quills and Ink. Spiced Rum. Libraries. Sleeping. Converse. Forests. Banana Milk. Venetian Masks. Poetry. Fireworks. US License Plates. Graveyards. Quotes. White Chocolate. Cats. Stars. Scrap Books. Shopping. Metallic Nail Varnish. Keepsakes. Phoenixes. Golden Grahams. Horror Movies. Tea (Esp. Rose Earl Grey). Lemonade Shower Gel. Travelling. Tragic Love. Piercings. Old Book & New Sponge Smells. Storms. Witty People. Cherries. Colourful Socks. American Dramas. Airports. Aston Martins. Hazelnut Lattes. Cowboys. Skeleton Keys. Cajun Chicken. Ivy. Dreams. Cinnamon Waffles. Old London. French Cheese. Trilby Hats. Antiques. Colourful Plasters. Postcards. Colourful paperclips. Bangles. Marvel & DC Comics. Key rings. Notebooks.

detest

Dishonesty. Racism. Narrow-Mindedness. Idiocy. Unwarranted Violence. Neglective Parents. Bullying. Unearned Respect. Betrayal. Extreme Heat. Bright Lights. Sickness. Mushrooms & Olives. Alarm Clocks. Unfounded Jealousy. South African Accents. Celebrity Biographies. Suffocating Presences. Restrictions. Superficial people. Game playing. Routines.

desire

Robert Frost Leather Bound Journal.

Small Vinyl Book Ends.

Astro Star Lamp.


reminiscence

  • Histoire
  • Moi
  • Images
  • credit where credit's due.

    designer joy.deprived

    hosted by DiaryLand.com