Let's be rational here...

2011-02-26 @ 11:04 p.m.
Purrrrfect


It�s perfect. Like swoon worthy, heart fluttery, warm tingly feelings sort of perfect.

Beautiful old architecture meshed in with post-modern splendour, in a comfy higgledy piggledy mess. Two friendly campuses, accessed by walking through the hospital grounds, with everything you could possibly need within EASY walking distance [including a three storey Uni library]; and the silence�.so beautiful. It�s like a little peaceful community. Nothing is more than a fifteen minute walk away and everything is steeped in history.

A converted military chapel serves as a cinema that you get to by walking through a grave yard, mounted on a hill overlooking the fields; the view punctured with twisting gothic church spires. An old court house, complete with stone pillars and antique steps, serves as a massive public library. Every shop imaginable, both boutique and high street, lurks behind a fa�ade of pretty wooden structures and old glass windows. Monuments, churches, a castle, a cathedral, a mill, cobbled streets and beautiful park land surrounding everything. Even the hospital looks ancient and ethereal.

Friendly teachers that put you at ease and classes of no more than 16 in my chosen subjects. Good sized bedrooms in roomy flats set within well-kept grounds, just a stone�s throw from the campuses. Regular buses to Southampton and an hours train ride from London. Plenty of job opportunities, plenty of societies and plenty to keep me occupied.

Class trips to the Tate, the Observatory, a Wolf sanctuary and maybe even Florence. A graduation set in a cathedral with respectable coloured robes [�cause you know I�m not wearing red] and an annual writer�s festival that Terry Pratchett himself attended last year. Voted the best place to live in England, with the highest level of sunshine in the country and statistically one of the safest places in Britain.

Seriously�.perfect. It�s like something out of a Dickens� novel crossed with Narnia [only without all the Narnians and crooks].

The Creative Writing talk answered every question I had on the subject, proving I�d have a variety of amazing modules to choose from dependant on what I wanted to write, and all the support I could possibly need. The test activity was actually pretty fun, I didn�t feel out of my depth and I wasn�t afraid to show my writing. It made me want to test my talents. It made me want to prove myself as a writer.

The Modern Liberal Arts talk showed how unique it really is; one of a kind. The idea of having to contribute to weekly discussions on the very question of existence, freedom and truth seems daunting, and yet so exciting. I want to be able to speak about the things I believe, as well as write about them; I want everything I thought was true to be thrown into upheaval, so I can rethink it all again from a different perspective; I want to question life and make my own firmly reasoned conclusions; I want to come out of this a different person.

I�m going to Hampshire in September. I�ll be back in the county I made some of my happiest childhood memories. Walking the same streets Austen, Keats and Hardy did. Like I said�perfect. Or pretty damn close.

The only way I can be wrong about all this, is if they go all �Hot Fuzz� on my ass.

<<ghosts []the mist>>


me

A shit load of contradictions, wrapped up neatly, with a nice pretty bow.

adore

Reading. Writing. Zoos & Animal Parks. Bowling. Coffee Ice-cream. Blues Rock/Alternative/Indie Music. Fallen Angels. Wild Flowers. Pastrami. Vanilla Coke. Autumn. Harry Potter. Driving. Turquoise. Southern Comfort. Aviators. Semolina. Christmas. Museums. Dream Catchers. Roller Coasters. Tattoos. Winter Cider. Philosophy. Vintage Shops. Night time. Chinese Lanterns. Hoop earrings. Sci-Fi. Flowery Skirts. Mythical Creatures. Weeping Willows. Castles. Yankee Candles. Rainy Mornings. Ballet Pumps. Baking. Art Galleries. Long pendants. Quills and Ink. Spiced Rum. Libraries. Sleeping. Converse. Forests. Banana Milk. Venetian Masks. Poetry. Fireworks. US License Plates. Graveyards. Quotes. White Chocolate. Cats. Stars. Scrap Books. Shopping. Metallic Nail Varnish. Keepsakes. Phoenixes. Golden Grahams. Horror Movies. Tea (Esp. Rose Earl Grey). Lemonade Shower Gel. Travelling. Tragic Love. Piercings. Old Book & New Sponge Smells. Storms. Witty People. Cherries. Colourful Socks. American Dramas. Airports. Aston Martins. Hazelnut Lattes. Cowboys. Skeleton Keys. Cajun Chicken. Ivy. Dreams. Cinnamon Waffles. Old London. French Cheese. Trilby Hats. Antiques. Colourful Plasters. Postcards. Colourful paperclips. Bangles. Marvel & DC Comics. Key rings. Notebooks.

detest

Dishonesty. Racism. Narrow-Mindedness. Idiocy. Unwarranted Violence. Neglective Parents. Bullying. Unearned Respect. Betrayal. Extreme Heat. Bright Lights. Sickness. Mushrooms & Olives. Alarm Clocks. Unfounded Jealousy. South African Accents. Celebrity Biographies. Suffocating Presences. Restrictions. Superficial people. Game playing. Routines.

desire

Robert Frost Leather Bound Journal.

Small Vinyl Book Ends.

Astro Star Lamp.


reminiscence

  • Histoire
  • Moi
  • Images
  • credit where credit's due.

    designer joy.deprived

    hosted by DiaryLand.com