Let's be rational here...

2011-03-11 @ 5:16 p.m.
The odds are we'll be better off


So I felt like being responsible and reconnecting or some shit today. I thought I�d ring my Nanny. Finally plucked up the courage and all that jazz. Grams is always telling me she�d hate it if any of her grandkids didn�t speak to her�so why the hell not. Time�s moved on, maybe she�s all nice and stuff now. So I dial the number and she sounds exactly the same, so I know it�s her.

Thirty seconds later and I�m thinking to myself �What the hell am I doing feeling sorry for this woman who can�t even be bothered to turn off the TV and speak to the Granddaughter she hasn�t seen in over ten years??�

Sometimes, this whole having a conscience thing is utterly delusional. I don�t think she could have really cared less. Talked for five minutes. No asking for phone numbers or addresses. Send me a photo. What the fuck.

She didn�t even know who I was at first. And then asked how old I was�and had I moved out of my Mums. It�s hilarious. Then she was hinting at how old she is (71) and the fact she won�t always be around. Like it�s my entire fucking fault we don�t speak. Ugh.

�Your dad told me you got married and divorced.� Well that just fucking shows how much my dad actually pays attention to what I say, doesn�t it.

I shouldn�t be offended by any of this. It just goes to show really�.and I was irritated as fuck. But dya know what? Fuck �em. I tried reaching out and doing what felt right�.oh for Christ�s sake. Who am I kidding? If I turned up on the doorstep with a bag of coke and five children from different fathers I�d be more welcome. I�d fit right in.

This family is just laughable sometimes. Gangster�s daughters are only welcome if they wanna be gangsters too. Or some utter rubbish like that. Petty fucking criminals and prostitutes more like it.

J didn�t know how ironic it was when he told me I could always sell myself for money. I�d rather jump off a building thanks. So fuck you lady. And fuck you daddy.

I�ll find my own way without any of you; I always do.

And you wanna know the bittersweet pill? She finally got around to asking me what I was doing with myself and what not; so I told her about Winchester and everything I was hoping to do.

So she goes: �Oh! Your uncle is in Winchester!��. I nearly had a panic attack.

Shit. This was supposed to be my place! That�s all I could think.

�Which one?� I tentatively asked.

�Steven. He got out of rehab down near there and started working for some charity or something; really turned his life around�. She didn�t sound that proud though.

So I guess I will have some family close by. My Dad�s youngest brother. I was laughing so hard when I got off the phone, I really couldn�t help it. Isn�t life funny?

<<ghosts []the mist>>


me

A shit load of contradictions, wrapped up neatly, with a nice pretty bow.

adore

Reading. Writing. Zoos & Animal Parks. Bowling. Coffee Ice-cream. Blues Rock/Alternative/Indie Music. Fallen Angels. Wild Flowers. Pastrami. Vanilla Coke. Autumn. Harry Potter. Driving. Turquoise. Southern Comfort. Aviators. Semolina. Christmas. Museums. Dream Catchers. Roller Coasters. Tattoos. Winter Cider. Philosophy. Vintage Shops. Night time. Chinese Lanterns. Hoop earrings. Sci-Fi. Flowery Skirts. Mythical Creatures. Weeping Willows. Castles. Yankee Candles. Rainy Mornings. Ballet Pumps. Baking. Art Galleries. Long pendants. Quills and Ink. Spiced Rum. Libraries. Sleeping. Converse. Forests. Banana Milk. Venetian Masks. Poetry. Fireworks. US License Plates. Graveyards. Quotes. White Chocolate. Cats. Stars. Scrap Books. Shopping. Metallic Nail Varnish. Keepsakes. Phoenixes. Golden Grahams. Horror Movies. Tea (Esp. Rose Earl Grey). Lemonade Shower Gel. Travelling. Tragic Love. Piercings. Old Book & New Sponge Smells. Storms. Witty People. Cherries. Colourful Socks. American Dramas. Airports. Aston Martins. Hazelnut Lattes. Cowboys. Skeleton Keys. Cajun Chicken. Ivy. Dreams. Cinnamon Waffles. Old London. French Cheese. Trilby Hats. Antiques. Colourful Plasters. Postcards. Colourful paperclips. Bangles. Marvel & DC Comics. Key rings. Notebooks.

detest

Dishonesty. Racism. Narrow-Mindedness. Idiocy. Unwarranted Violence. Neglective Parents. Bullying. Unearned Respect. Betrayal. Extreme Heat. Bright Lights. Sickness. Mushrooms & Olives. Alarm Clocks. Unfounded Jealousy. South African Accents. Celebrity Biographies. Suffocating Presences. Restrictions. Superficial people. Game playing. Routines.

desire

Robert Frost Leather Bound Journal.

Small Vinyl Book Ends.

Astro Star Lamp.


reminiscence

  • Histoire
  • Moi
  • Images
  • credit where credit's due.

    designer joy.deprived

    hosted by DiaryLand.com